Schengen name is taken from the town in southeastern Luxembourg, where France, Germany, Belgium, Luxembourg, and the Netherlands signed the original Schengen Agreement in 1985. Over the team, Schgne has become the biggest travel-free area. As of today, 29 states are members of the Schengen Area, covering most of the European mainland. The agreement allows people to travel visa-free. Out of these 29 nations, 22 are EU member states and four are EFTA (European Free Trade Association) countries.

  1. Austria
  2. Belgium
  3. Bulgaria
  4. Croatia
  5. Czechia
  6. Denmark
  7. Estonia
  8. Finland
  9. France
  10. Germany
  11. Greece
  12. Hungary
  13. Iceland (EFTA)
  14. Italy
  15. Latvia
  16. Liechtenstein (EFTA)
  17. Lithuania
  18. Luxembourg
  19. Malta
  20. Netherlands
  21. Norway (EFTA)
  22. Poland
  23. Portugal
  24. Romania
  25. Slovakia
  26. Slovenia
  27. Spain
  28. Sweden
  29. Switzerland (EFTA)

List of Countries that are Non-Schengen

  1. Albania
  2. Armenia
  3. Azerbaijan
  4. Belarus
  5. Bosnia & Herzegovina
  6. Macedonia
  7. Moldova
  8. Montenegro
  9. Serbia
  10. Ukraine
  11. United Kingdom

The Schengen Visa allows travellers to travel hassle-free for 90 days within the 180-day to any country in the area without having to apply for the visa separately.

Note: Russia, being a Eurasia nation, is neither a part of the European Union nor Schengen, thus having its border controls and travel restrictions. About 25% part of Russia is in Europe and 75% of the Land is in Asia, while about 80% population of Russia lives in the European Region.